Peanut Butter Alternatives: Sunbutter vs. Wowbutter

Peanut Butter Alternatives - Wowbutter vs. Sunbutter

Peanut butter and jelly—for years I thought I’d never eat this delicious pairing ever again. Peanuts give me an embarrassing red, splotchy rash on my neck, so I try to avoid them as much as possible. Fortunately, I’ve learned about plenty of peanut butter alternatives. I’ve reviewed (and totally pigged-out on) two of the most popular alternatives: Sunbutter, made from sunflower seeds, and Wowbutter, made from soy.

Peanut Butter Alternatives - Sunbutter and Wowbutter on Rice Cakes

What’s great about both of these brands is that they are made in a 100% peanut-free, gluten-free, egg-free, tree-nut-free, and dairy-free facility. Whew, that covers a lot of allergens. These alternatives sure do look like peanut butter, but do they actually taste like peanut butter?

Let’s start with Sunbutter.

Peanut Butter Alternatives - Sunbutter on a spoon

I’ve been eating a local sunflower butter brand for a while, so this was my first time trying Sunbutter. I opted for the Original variety. (Original is known as Creamy in the US.)

I had to be a bit careful when peeling off the protective seal from the jar, since there is a layer of sunflower seed oil on top. This might seem a bit gross at first, but it’s completely normal. The sunflower seed oil naturally separates from the solids. To mix it in, I used a long table knife. It took me a good five minutes to mix it up really well. My arms are not in shape, so that was a work out!

When I finally tasted it, I was kind of blown away. It was really good. I had never tasted a sunflower butter with added salt and sugar. Although I try to avoid both of these ingredients, it sure does kick up the taste quite a few notches. Let’s face it—salt and sugar makes things taste better.

Sunbutter has a distinct taste of roasted sunflower seeds. So although it doesn’t taste like peanut butter, it definitely reminds me of peanut butter. It’s smooth. It sticks to the roof of my mouth. And it’s delicious. Sunbutter is pretty awesome stuff.

And now, Wowbutter.

Peanut Butter Alternatives - Wowbutter on a spoon

After falling madly in love with Sunbutter, I was skeptical that a product made from toasted soy could actually “wow” me. With Wowbutter, no stirring is required, so I ripped off the protective seal and dug right in.

I was definitely surprised. Wowbutter tasted good—like really good. It reminded me of peanut butter. It was super smooth and creamy. And it had a thicker consistency than Sunbutter.

The company claims it “Tastes Just Like Peanut Butter!” I wouldn’t quite agree. It didn’t smell or taste like peanuts to me. I mean, I could tell it wasn’t made of peanuts. It was difficult to identify exactly what it did taste like, but it really just tasted good.

So, which one is better?

They both taste good in their own way, so I decided to check out if either of them have any significant benefit nutritionally.

Sunbutter and Wowbutter are very comparable nutritionally. The calories, fat, sodium, sugar, and even protein content are extremely similar. One gram more of sugar or fat isn’t going to make or break a product for me. Sunbutter, however, is a significant source of the antioxidant vitamin E, which is definitely a benefit.

SunButter Wowbutter
Sunbutter Nutritional Information Wowbutter Nutritional Information

So, what is really comes down to (at least for me) is taste. I have gone back and forth many times trying to decide.

I spread both butters on rice cakes. Sunbutter won the rice cake test because the taste stood out more. Wowbutter has a milder taste that can get lost in what you’re eating it with, like jam or honey.

Peanut Butter Alternatives - Yummy Sunbutter and Wowbutter on Rice Cakes

Wowbutter seems more like a peanut butter mimic. I would definitely consider buying it if I were making something like faux peanut butter cookies. Sunbutter, however, is its own distinct thing. I like that it has extra nutrients. I also like that there are varieties available without salt and sugar. Overall, I prefer Sunbutter.

If you already like the taste of roasted Sunflower seeds, I say go for Sunbutter, but Wowbutter is definitely worth a try. It’s cheaper, and it might just trick you or your kids into thinking it’s the real deal.

If you’re allergic to sunflower seeds or soy, there are other alternatives such as butters made from other nuts, seeds, and even brown peas.

Just don’t deprive yourself! You can eat peanut butter again, even if it’s fake.

Yummy Rating:
Sunbutter – 5/5
Wowbutter – 4/5

Learn more about each of these products on their websites:
sunbutter.com
wowbutter.com

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Alternatives: Sunbutter vs. Wowbutter

  1. Lindsey Luch says:

    I really appreciated this breakdown! My boyfriend is deathly allergic to peanut butter, and we have been disappointed to find that some almond butters contain PEANUTS!! I’m going to try sunbutter, as he can eat sunflower seeds. I did not know that wowbutter contained soy, which he is also allergic to. Thanks so much!!

    Like

  2. valerie stone says:

    I just found out that my grandson cannot have peanuts. Looking to try your product. Do you have any samples or coupons. Thank you for your time it is greatly appreciated.

    Like

Leave a comment