Kashi Indigo Morning Review

Features: Organic. Non-GMO. Simple ingredients. Free of dairy, nuts, and gluten.

Kashi Indigo Morning Cereal BoxCereal can be blah or just pure evil. I’ve found it hard to find the in between in the gluten-free world, at least until Kashi Indigo Morning made its way into my life.

I love this cereal so much that it almost makes me want to become a morning person. That likely will never happen though, so this delicious cereal will remain a favorite evening treat.

So, what’s all the fuss about? Well, for one thing, I’ve avoided Kashi’s products because they often contain nuts. This cereal gets points for being nut-free. It’s also gluten-free and contains seven ingredients—all words that I can easily pronounce: Organic Whole Grain Corn, Organic Dried Cane Syrup, Organic Freeze-Dried Blackberries, Organic Freeze-Dried Blueberries, Salt, Organic Molasses, and Natural Flavor.

Kashi Indigo Morning Review - Closeup of Flakes and Berries

I’m also impressed that there’s only 6 grams of sugar per ¾ cup. Not bad. And unlike many corn-based cereals, Indigo Morning’s crunchy and golden flakes are made from whole grain corn, not processed corn flour. Unfortunately, I’m not a huge fan of the corn husks still being intact. Oh, the irony of whole-grain healthiness. It’s a very minor downside though.

A bowl of Kashi Indigo Morning Cereal

Also, I’ve noticed some inconsistency in the cereal’s flakes staying crunchy in milk. While most boxes I’ve had have flakes that stay crunchy for what feels like an eon, some boxes have flakes that get soggy much faster. This seems to happen when the flakes look not as golden as usual.

I still love this cereal though. The freeze-dried berries give each bite a fruity and tangy taste. And, if you like to have fun with your food like me, you’ll feel like a kid again as you swirl your cereal in the milk and watch it turn increasingly more blue.

Kashi Indigo Morning Cereal Turns Your Milk Blue

I’ve probably boasted this cereal enough, but it’s seriously a refreshing and yummy gluten-free cereal that doesn’t seem gluten-free. Good job, Kashi. I look forward to more gluten and nut-free products.

Yummy Rating: 4.5/5

How to eat this cereal:

  • In a bowl with your favourite milk
  • Straight out of the box (Careful: this can cause sticky fingers!)
  • With ice cream, for a frozen and crunchy treat
  • Mix in into meatloaf (Just kidding. Unless you really want to try it.)

Check out the nutritional information on Kashi’s website.

Leave a comment