Pillsbury Gluten Free Cookie Dough Review

Pillsbury made a bold move when they created Pillsbury Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough. I mean, can the gluten-free version possibly live up to its original counterpart? Did this cookie dough succeed in triggering my Pillsbury childhood memories? It may just have.

Pillsbury Gluten Free Cookie Dough Container

My most vivid memories of Pillsbury cookies are the smell, the sweet & chocolately taste, and me getting into the tube of dough with a spoon. The gluten-free version comes in a tub rather than a tube, and I won’t be eating this dough raw, since I now know that is not exactly safe.

Making cookies with this dough was rather easy. I simply scooped it out of the tub with a tablespoon and spaced out the blobs of dough two inches apart on a cookie sheet. Within minutes of the cookies starting to bake in my oven, my entire apartment smelled like Pillsbury childhood memories. By the eight-minute mark, I couldn’t wait any longer and crouched in front of the oven window watching the cookies turn a golden brown, while thinking “mmmmm coooookies.”

Pillsbury Gluten Free Cookie Dough on a Cookie Sheet

When they were finally done, I was impressed. They looked just like the original, they smelled like the original, but did they taste like the original?

I haven’t had a wheat Pillsbury chocolate chip cookie in many years, but the gluten-free version definitely reminded me of the original. Considering the dough came out of a tub, it made pretty damn good cookies that were chewy on the inside and crispy on the outside. They were a bit too greasy for me, but the cookies were also sweet, chocolately, and delicious–all things I look for in an evil treat. And most impressively, I couldn’t really tell they were gluten-free.

Pillsbury Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Split in Half

These cookies taste good for a reason though: lots of sugar and fat. I prefer to go a more healthy route, even with my treats. But when I want a bad treat, like a really bad treat, I like to go all out. And these Pillsbury gluten-free cookies are a viable option.

Other than the taste, one huge advantage of this cookie dough is if you are not into baking, this is a relatively inexpensive way to make freshly baked gluten-free chocolate chip cookies without investing a bunch of money in gluten-free flours that you may never use again.

A Stack of Pillsbury Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

However, before rushing out to buy this product, I would recommend reading over the nutritional information and ingredients carefully. For example, even though there is no dairy listed in the ingredients, the package still says that the dough may contain milk ingredients.

I admit, I prefer making my own cookies. But if you want delicious, freshly-baked, bad-for-you cookies in a matter of minutes, I totally recommend these. They may just be some of the best gluten-free chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever had.

Yummy Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a comment